Physics at the equator: from the lab to the stars

October 16-18 2019 | ENS de Lyon (France)

Physics at the equator: from the lab to the stars

Equatorial regions of planetary atmospheres, oceans and stars experience a rich variety of dynamical regimes, with common underlying physical mechanisms. On Earth, stratospheric winds undergo regular reversals with a 28 month period, oceanic currents are organized into vertically alternating jets, and the emergence of equatorial modes of variability such as the Madden Julian Oscillation remain a mysterious aspect of our climate system. In many planetary atmospheres, such as Jupiter, Saturn, Venus or Titan, the winds are in a superrotating state with a strong eastward jet above the equator. Owing to tremendous progress in observational techniques and computational capabilities, similar phenomena are currently being discovered in stars and exoplanets, while phase diagrams of possible dynamical regimes for astrophysical and geophysical flows are being mapped by systematic exploration of parameter space using numerical simulations.

Meanwhile, theoretical tools from topology, nonlinear dynamics and quasilinear approaches are bringing new insights into the physics of equatorial waves and how they interact with mean-flows, underlying the robustness and the universality of the observed phenomena across these different fields. Physical mechanisms in different regimes parameters have been proposed, but a common framework in astrophysical and geophysical flows is still lacking. 

The aim of this interdisciplinary workshop is to gather specialists from different communities interested in equatorial phenomena, from linear effects to fully turbulent flows, from laboratory experiments to atmospheric dynamics and astrophysics. We intend to fertilize new collaborations and foster exchange of ideas between these different fields.

Registration is free but mandatory. Participants will be given the opportunity to present their results in a poster session. Registration deadline: July 13, 2019.



Isabelle Baraffe | University of Exeter

Freddy Bouchet | CNRS, ENS de Lyon

Michael Byrne | University of St Andrews & University of Oxford

Rodrigo Caballero | University of Stockholm

Florian Debras | IRAP, Toulouse

Pierre Delplace | CNRS, ENS de Lyon

Sebastien Fromang | CEA Saclay

Sandrine Guerlet | CNRS, LMD, Paris

Christophe Gissinger | ENS Paris

Laurent Gizon | MPI Goettingen

Mickael Le Bars | CNRS, IRPHE, Marseille

Sébastien Lebonnois | CNRS, LMD, Paris

Claire Menesguen | Ifremer, Brest

Antoine Renaud | University of Edinburgh

Tamara Rogers | Newcastle University

Benoît Semin | CNRS, ESPCI, Paris

Josef Schröttle | Tel Aviv University

Geoff Vallis | University of Exeter

Vladimir Zeitlin | LMD, Paris

Pablo Zurita-Gotor | Universidad Complutense de Madrid




Corentin Herbert CNRS, ENS de Lyon

Antoine Venaille CNRS, ENS de Lyon

Scientific committee

Isabelle Baraffe University of Exeter

Freddy Bouchet CNRS, ENS de Lyon

Nili Harnik Tel Aviv University

Peter Read University of Oxford

Administrative coordinator

Fatiha Bouchneb, Physics laboratory, ENS de Lyon

Online user: 2